7s Experience




A new-look HSBC Cape Town Sevens tournament, stretching over three days and featuring a women’s event for the first time ever, will take place at the Cape Town Stadium from Friday 13 to Sunday 15 December 2019.

In what is a first for this highly popular event, the Mother City will co-host a HSBC World Rugby Women’s Sevens Series tournament at the same venue on the same weekend, promising almost double the amount of action-packed rugby at what is expected to be a sell-out occasion yet again.

The stopover in Cape Town will be the second in the 2019/20 HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series, with the opening tournament taking place in Dubai a week earlier, while it will be the third event in the HSBC World Rugby Women’s Sevens Series.

Each tournament consists of 16 teams, playing in four pools of four each. The teams play each other in their pools first (three matches), with the top two teams progressing to the Cup quarterfinals and the bottom two team moving to the Challenge Trophy in the next round.

The top team will win the Cup, with a third-placed, fifth-placed and seventh placed final in the Cup and Trophy tournament s respectively played on the final day.

The final tournament points are determined on overall log position (for a specific tournament), and at the end of the ten tournaments, those points are added up to determine the overall World Series winner and subsequent placings.

During the December tournament in Cape Town, teams are traditionally at their most competitive. The opening tournament, in Dubai, is where the most settled teams normally do well, but in Cape Town, all squads have trained and played together for almost a month, have the benefit of one tournament to mould and gel and generally inspired by the awesome support of the South African and travelling fans. In January, some of the star players in these team are lured to duty in Vodacom Super Rugby, Six Nations and European competitions.

The HSBC Cape Town Sevens delivers some of the most exciting, competitive and exciting matches you will find during the ten tournament series